The 7 different areas of learning and development in the EYFS

The 7 different areas of learning and development in the EYFS

Posted on Sep 03, 2016

The 7 different areas of learning and development in the EYFS

Learning and development is one of the two key areas of the EYFS. The other is safeguarding and welfare, which we’ll look at in some detail in a future blog.

Why is learning and development key?

Learning and development shape the activities and experiences that childcare providers offer children under the age of 5. The EYFS states that the educational programme offered must involve activities and experiences that cover 7 significant and inter-connected areas of learning and development.

We’ll now take a brief look at each of these 7 areas and why they are important.

Communication and language development

Providing an environment for young children to express themselves and speak and listen in a range of situations allows them to develop their language and communication skills.

Physical development

We all know that young children often love to be active, but they also need to understand that continued physical activity as well as healthy food choices are important, and why.

Personal, social, and emotional development

This area helps to shape children’s social skills and develops respect and an understanding of their different feelings.

Literacy development

It’s important for children to discover phonemic awareness – the ability to hear and identify different words and sounds, and also to start reading and writing.


Children need to be guided in developing skills with numbers and calculations, as well as being able to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the world

This involves children making sense of things by observing and exploring everything from the places they spend time to the technology and other things that they use.

Expressive arts and design

Activities like drawing, playing with paint, instruments or technology all give children the chance to express themselves and learn new things.

The four guiding principles

As mentioned in last week’s EYFS blog, there are four guiding principles in the EYFS. It’s important that these principles are used when implementing the above 7 learning and development areas:

  1. That every child is unique.
  2. That every child can learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  3. That children learn and develop best in enabling environments.
  4. That children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

Train your staff

Everyone working in an early years setting needs to be aware of the 7 learning and development areas, as well as a broad understanding of the rest of the EYFS.

You can train your staff in all of this, and much more, as part of the flick subscription. Subscribing with flick offers access to all flick courses, plus downloadable guides and resources in the flick library.

So why not sign up today?

EYFS training

Flick Learning Ltd

Fargo Studios, 54 Grafton Street, Coventry, West Midlands, CV1 2HW. Copyright 2024 All Rights Reserved. Company No. 09270577