An introduction to the EYFS

An introduction to the EYFS

Posted on Aug 25, 2016

An introduction to the EYFS



What does EYFS stand for?

EYFS stands for Early Years Foundation Stage.

The EYFS is a set of standards and requirements, introduced into legislation by the government in September 2008, that must be followed by providers of care for children up to the age of 5. So that’s pre-schools, nurseries and childminders.


Why is the EYFS important?

You may or may not have noticed that earlier this month the UK government announced the beginning of a period of consultation on proposals to change the way that early years education is funded.

Raising the profile of this area of education is really important as every child deserves the best possible start in life to ensure that they are able to achieve their full potential. Children develop quickly in these early years, and their early experiences affect them as they grow up.

Voice – the union for education, early years, and childcare professionals – welcomed the news, stating: ‘Early years has, for far too long, lagged behind the other education services in terms of being adequately funded’.

The proposals mean that a fairer system should be created that makes it easier for families to access affordable, high-quality childcare.

But the EYFS isn’t simply about childcare.


What does the EYFS involve?

The EYFS looks to ensure that all early years children are provided with the highest quality early learning experience. It is extremely important as it is likely to have a major impact on the rest of their lives. The EYFS is there to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.


The four guiding principles

There are four distinct and fundamental guiding principles in the EYFS.

These are:

  1. That every child is unique.
  2. That every child can learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  3. That children learn and develop best in enabling environments.
  4. That children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

These principles are intended to shape all areas of practice in early years settings.


Two key areas

The EYFS requirements are divided into 2 key areas:

learning and development – shaping the activities and experiences children are offered, and,

safeguarding and welfare – ensuring that the welfare of children is promoted and that they are kept safe.


Train your staff

Everyone working in an early years setting needs to be aware of, and have an understanding of, the EYFS. So why not sign up to the flick learning subscription today to get full access to our EYFS made simple course?

Subscribing with flick offers access to all flick courses, plus downloadable guides and resources in the flick library.

the eyfs made simple


3 months, 1 week ago

Interested in joining flick? Take a look at some of the other companies we are working with. #flicklearning…

3 months, 2 weeks ago

What action should you take in the event of an E-Safety incident? Find out how to keep yourself safe online in our…

3 months, 3 weeks ago

Would you like to learn the basic first aid techniques that can be useful in an emergency? Our Basic First Aid cour…

Flick Learning Ltd

Fargo Studios, 54 Grafton Street, Coventry, West Midlands, CV1 2HW. Copyright 2021 All Rights Reserved. Company No. 09270577